Alexa Voice Confusion with Garageio

Hello everyone; not sure how to address this, but here is the problem with my Alexa integration:

“Ask garadget to open home”

“You do not have GARAGEIO skill active … etc or something like that”

I have to annunciate a HARD T to make it work. Anything we can do?

I’ve had the same problem. Given the similarity of the names not sure how it would be addressed. I find out if I have no background noise like TV or music on and I speak very slowly it gets around the problem. Not a great situation but it is a workaround.

I’ve had to make it sound like “rat” instead of like “roger” when saying the word, so it’s like gah-raj-it instead of gah-rah-jet. That works every time.

I have the Garadget skill (by Softcomplex, Inc) enabled. You have to really enunciate the “d” sound in “Garadget” that Alexa is expecting based on the name spelling so (Ga-raD-jet) or (Ga-ratchet). For me “Ask Garadget to open home” works okay, but “Ask Garadget to open the door” works just as well or better. Also I have only one door and it is also named “Home”.

If anyone or anything (television, radio, kids) are talking at the same time I have to repeat the command for Alexa.

1 Like

Having the same problem with Alexa confusing the words garaget and garageio. Does matter how hard I say the word with a heavy T, Alexa hears garageio 90% of the time. Let face it! These words too much alike for the echo software. Any way to change the skill to remove the “garadget” completely? Why can I just say “Alexa close garage door”? Other skills are easy to use and don’t need to have the manufactured name?

To distinguish the third party skill Alexa software needs to hear the invocation phrase so requests have to structured like:

• Alexa, ask [invocation name] [utterance passed to skill]
  • Alexa, tell [invocation name] [utterance passed to skill]